Ballon d’Or 2018 Winner: All You Should Know

The Ballon d’Or is an annual football award which is presented by France football. The award has been since 1956, although between 2010 and 2015, there was an agreement with FIFA and the award was temporarily merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year, and known as the FIFA Ballon d’Or. However, the partnership came to a meltdown in 2016 and the award was reversed back to Ballon d’Or, FIFA also created its own separate annual award (The Best FIFA Football Awards).

The  Ballon d’Or 2018 will mark precisely 10 years since Cristiano Ronaldo first Scooped the award in 2008, which lead to an entire decade which he dominated the trophy with his compatriot Lionel Messi both as winners and runner-up.

In the last decade, we have seen this prestigious award shared between Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi. But 2018 Ballon d’Or has a different feel about it. We have already witnessed Luka Modric Scamper with the FIFA Best Player of the Year Award which was not expected by many.

In the wake of the 2018 World Cup, which saw the premature exit for a number of favorites and plenty of individuals taking center-stage, it may have seemed the way have been paved for a new player to break up the Ronaldo and Messi duopoly, especially since neither of this players was able to reach the height expected of them in Russia 2018.

After a 30 man shortlists, the list has been reduced to a three-man list which saw a bunch of talents dropped out of the list.

The full list of Ballon d’Or 2018 shortlists: 

Sergio Aguero (Man City)

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)

Alisson Becker (Liverpool)

Isco (Real Madrid)

Harry Kane (Tottenham)

N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)

Mario Mandzukic (Juventus)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

Marcelo (Real Madrid)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Edinson Cavani (PSG)

Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)

Roberto Firmino (Liverpool)

Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid)

Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Neymar (PSG)

Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid)

Paul Pogba (Manchester United)

Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona)

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Luis Suarez (Barcelona)

Raphael Varane (Real Madrid)

The three Finalist for Ballon d’Or 2018

Luka Modric(Real Madrid)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)

Here’s all you need to know about the Ballon d’Or 2018 – Time, Venue, telecast, and nominations: 

When is the Ballon d’Or 2018 awards?

The 63rd edition of the Ballon d’Or will be held on Monday 3, December.

What time is the Ballon d’Or 2018 awards?

The Ballon d’Or 2018 ceremony is expected to start around 6:45 GMT which is at 12:15 AM in India.

Where is the Ballon d’Or 2018 award ceremony happening?

Ballon d’Or 2018 awards ceremony will be taking place in the French capital of Paris.

Who will host the Ballon d’Or 2018 awards?

Former Tottenham and France great David Ginola will host the Ballon d’Or 2018 awards ceremony.

How to watch Ballon d’Or 2018 ceremony live in India?

French news outlet L’Equipe’s dedicated TV channel will be screening all the coverage. It will also be shown on the France Football’s official website. FIFA’s official YouTube channel might also show the live coverage of the Ballon d’Or ceremony.

2018 Ballon d’Or Winner

The winner of the 2018 Ballon d’Or will be announced this evening and you will get it on this page stay tuned with us?